Everville: The Fall Of Brackenbone

25272178Imagine two worlds and several different lands all connected by magic. We have the Eastern Falls University and the magical world of Everville. Something bad is brewing in both worlds and a hero is needed to find out what is happening. Owen Sage takes on the task and goes to search for the fourth pillar of truth and face the powerful but evil Governor Jahal. On Owen’s journey he will have to deal with dragons, giants and countries at war, but he must carry on because he is the only one who can save both worlds.

Everville The Fall Of Brackenbone  by Roy Huff is a work of epic fantasy. Roy has created his own mythology in the story of Everville and its a journey that fans of fantasy novels will love. What I liked most about this book was how all these different races of people and creatures are connected, everyone is important in their own way.

I like how imaginative this book  is and the messages he is trying to get across. I also think the author has some really creative ideas, but I have to admit I did have some problems with it. While I did enjoy it, starting with the fourth book in a series was not a good idea, I got the feeling the author meant for this book to continue a larger story and not be a stand alone novel. I found myself being a little lost, I didn’t know much about the characters, the different countries or how everyone got to where they were. That being said, reading this did make me want to pick up the other three books.

The other problem I had with it was that while the story was decent, it seemed more like a very detailed outline of a story then a full book. There were some scenes that I felt could have been expanded on, for instance there was a part where two characters fight monsters in a cave, but instead of a description of a great fight scene we got just a couple of sentences saying that it happened. Also at one point there is a scene where we find that two characters have to work together despite their mistrust of each other. At this point I found myself thinking that this is where the story will get really good. Instead the two resolve their differences quickly and we’re off to another part of the story.

There is a great concept and a lot of potential in Everville The Fall Of Brackenbone. I found the characters interesting, I loved how everything was connected, I liked how the magic in the story worked and how different all the races of creatures were. There is a lot to like in this book but it felt more like a small part of a much bigger story. If you read the first three in the series you will probably enjoy this book. Roy Huff has built a great fantasy world here that I would love to start reading from the beginning in Everville: The First Pillar 

http://www.owensage.com/

 

Leave a Reply

