D.E.M. Deus Ex Machina

24674344Sometimes an impulse decision can start a whole chain reaction of events. This was the case with Rachel when she decided to use her computer skills to help find an abducted child. Her efforts bring her to the attention of an anonymous vigilante who keeps contacting her through email. The vigilante keeps emailing missions for Rachel to complete and each one gets more difficult.

Rachel finds that she is getting to deeply involved in a dangerous game. The computer hacking she is asked to do becomes more difficult so she enlists the help of friends.  As the stakes get higher Rachel finds out without knowing it that she has been enlisted into a secret organization. Her next mission will be to prevent a war between Israel and Palestine.

I have to admit when I heard about D.E.M. Deus Ex Machina by Lee Ness I was apprehensive. Its a spy novel and it had a lot about computers in it. As far as reading goes, this isn’t what I usually like, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I decided to give it a shot because I thought it would be fun to read something that was different and it blew me away.

In the beginning I was a little confused as to what was going on because the action moved so quickly. We start with an abduction with Rachel deciding she has to do something, then we see that Rachel’s actions have brought her to the attention of someone who is extremely dangerous. This all happens in a few pages, then we get into the mystery of who is giving Rachel strange tasks via email to complete and what do they really want from her.

The first half of the book I was trying to guess who the person was that was giving Rachel things to do. Right when I felt I had it figured out the story goes in a completely different direction and goes from a mystery to a fast paced action novel. D.E.M. Deus Ex Machina has everything you could want in a book. The characters are fascinating and full of surprises and the story never gets boring. This book starts with a bang, slows down to let you have a vested interest in the characters then takes you on a roller coaster ride. This novel has a perfect plot and is a well told unpredictable story.

Another thing that amazed me about this book is all the computer terminology in it. Lee Ness must have a lot of computer experience or did a lot of research because he gives a lot of information that went over my head.  I enjoyed it because I felt I was learning while I read. The best part of the book is the characters in it. No one was what they seemed to be and the relationship between the main 4 characters changes throughout the book. There is never a dull moment in  D.E.M. Deus Ex Machina and I found myself thinking it would make an excellent action movie. If you love spy novels, this one is great one. I saw on Lee Ness’s website that he is currently working on a sequel so I’m happy to see that this will be a series. Give this book a try you won’t be disappointed.

http://leeness.co.uk/

 

Leave a Reply

