Rise Of The Iron Eagle

E7CDEE61-EF0A-4089-AD8D-747D96C5DA91Los Angeles is the second biggest city in the United States and probably home to more then one serial killer. When you live in a city as big as L.A. you have to accept that there will be a lot of crime and the police can’t stop it all or catch all the serial killers out there. There is someone who is on the police’s side and has been hunting down serial killers for twenty years. They call him the Iron Eagle and his real identity is unknown.

The Iron Eagle is not your normal serial killer, he catches other serial killers and gets them to confess to their crimes. He then Sends proof to the police and  meticulously tortures then kills his victims. The police believe that he may have killed innocent people also and have put together a task force to find the Eagle and bring him to justice. The problem is when you mess with the Iron Eagle you might end up on his cutting table.

Rise Of The Iron Eagle by Roy A. Teel Jr. is a brutal book. I like the concept of a serial killer who hunts serial killers but this book was almost to hard-core for me. I’m a horror fan and I have no problem with violence in books but this one was over the top. I found some of the sexual torture in this book to be hard to read and almost couldn’t get through it. That being said whether you like this book or not will depend on how much violence you can take.

I think my problem with this book is that I’m not use to reading books that have so much realistic violence. When you read Rise Of The Iron Eagle you know that people have gone through this kind of torture and its a little hard to stomach. If you can handle the violence though, what you will find in this book is a good mystery and a well told story. I thought from the beginning that I knew who the Eagle was but I wasn’t even close and the author kept me guessing throughout. Also all the police and FBI agents came across as realistic and how I think law enforcement agents would act. I like how when the Iron Eagle interrogates someone he follows the law during the interrogation. It’s like he looks at himself as helping the police because the police can’t handle all the evil that’s out there. I was rooting for the Eagle despite him being a vigilante.

On the downside I felt the author was trying too hard to be shocking and that’s usually a turn off for me but there was enough to like about this book where I got past the excessive violence. Some of the little things in this book made it a good read. Such as the bar where anyone who’s in law enforcement drinks for free because the owner treats those who risk their lives. Another time there is a homeless man who gets questioned about a murder and we see that he’s not like you would expect a homeless man to act. This book gives a realistic look at the police and shows what they  put up with in the field and puts them in a positive light. Crime Fiction fans will love Rise Of The Iron Eagle and the sequels that are available.

http://ironeagleseries.com/

ALL Iron Eagle Books

Leave a Reply

