Johnson Junction

14059767

Maddy and her son Bryan have had it rough. After six years of living in a secluded farmhouse. Maddy went on the run with her son to get away from her alcoholic abusive husband. Her car breaks down by a place called Johnson Junction which is kind of like a truck stop in the middle of nowhere. When she goes into the building she receives a gift that seems to good to be true, she gets offered a place to live and a job. Things aren’t what they seem though and we soon learn that there is something sinister going on at Johnson Junction.

Johnson Junction by J. W. DeBrock is not your normal every day book. As I started to read it I didn’t know a lot about the story or the author and I wondered how would I categorize this book? There is a romance to it but it’s not the central theme of the story in my opinion. Though we do see the two main characters become better people when they fall in love, which is one of the things I liked about the book.

There is also a mystery to this book because in the beginning you wonder what’s going on in this weird place in the middle of the desert. When Maddy gets a job at Johnson Junction, I thought to myself that this seems too convenient, but you quickly realize that there is a reason why they want Maddy at there. The place only employs people who are down on their luck and this eventually leads into the paranormal occurrences that happen in the story.

So you could call this book a paranormal mystery or a romance but mainly it’s a story of redemption and new beginnings. Johnson Junction is a good book but it has its flaws. I felt that the villain in the story Mr. Waverly should have been in the book a little more, I wondered what made him the person he was and I would have liked to have known more about Maddy’s alcoholic husband. It’s pointed out in the book that both characters were evil but not a lot of detail is given. I also thought that a couple of the action scenes could have been described a little better since I was a little confused as to what was going on. The one thing that really bothered me about the story was that we know Maddy is leaving an alcoholic husband but her new love interest is also seen drinking constantly. I felt that it should have been pointed out that Maddy was following a pattern as it looked like her new boyfriend had some of the same traits as the husband.

Johnson Junction had its moments and it held my interest to the end. There was a sense that anything goes in the story and it is an entertaining read. I liked the message that the book presents, which is that no matter how bad things get you just never know when you might find love and a new start. I also have to say that I liked the setting for the story which reminded me a little of the Bates Motel from Psycho. J.W. Brock has written a good and bizarre story that fans of romance and paranormal mystery will enjoy.

 

About J.W. DeBrock:

Publication of Blue Macabre is, for me, the realization of a life dream I have entertained since childhood. My mother taught me to read at the age of three, and her love led to a lifetime of enjoying the printed word. I’ve been a fan of Stephen King for nearly his entire career – can it be almost 40 years? and also love Dean Koontz. I believe reading to be one of the most enriching aspects of human existence. Through it we can learn, love, be horrified, travel in time – backwards and forwards – and best of all, imagine.

I’ve lived all over the United States, and currently thrive among rich cornfields in a vintage old 61C0a9qo4aL._UX250_home that was once on display at the 1893 Columbian Exposition. Writing is my most passionate art, and I also find great joy in painting, textiles, and a variety of handcrafts. I am happy to be known as an eccentric Aquarian! I enjoy the challenge of being diabetic, and loathe cooking . . . I maintain an online presence for my fine arts endeavors through Fine Art America.com, where prints of many of my works are available. Additionally I also have an online shop through Etsy.com – Jewels In The Attic – where I feature textile art and original paintings and artwork.

I write for myself, and I believe that through my writing some may find something beyond entertainment. I adore the concept of Universal Truth – and desire that I will always make it a part of who I am and what I write. Dear Reader, thank you so much for your interest and possible appreciation. My wish for you is to take something more than a thrill or chill from my work – something that will stay with you, as in my own life countless authors remain with me.

http://www.debrockgalleria.com/

 

Leave a Reply

