Genesis – The First Black Horror Writers/Storytellers by Linda Addison

HorrorAddicts.net

Genesis – The First Black Horror Writers/Storytellers

by Linda Addison

Horror —n: an overwhelming and painful feeling caused by something frightfully shocking, terrifying, or revolting; a shuddering fear.

    Who were the first Black horror writers in a country that made enslaved Africans’ everyday life horrific? How did stories develop and what were their themes?

I wanted to write this because of my own curiosity. I didn’t know where this was going to lead me but the more I dug the more I found. The yellow brick road of discovery took me away from the land of published authors to places unexpected.

Known for my horror poetry collections, I can find horror in unlikely Black publications that publish. My horror poetry isn’t typically blood and guts, but more around the subject of loss, abuse, possession/demons, revenge, etc.

Poetry and fiction written outside the realm of horror publications by Blacks often…

View original post 1,485 more words

Leave a Reply

