Music That Kicks Ass: Part One

One thing that I’ve been really into lately is searching youtube, amazon prime, Pandora, sound cloud and record stores to find good music to listen to throughout the day. I’ve been saying for a while now that I was going to start blogging about what I’m listening too and today is that day.

I find that as I’ve gotten older my tastes in music have changed quite a bit. When I was a kid I don’t remember caring about music too much. In the mid to late eighties I started getting into Aerosmith which led me into becoming interested in Rock music from the late sixties, seventies and the hair bands of the eighties.

Now a days I like to listen to all genres of music depending on my mood. Jazz, Blues, Rock, big band music, it’s all good. I find even some of the bands that I hated as a teenager I actually appreciate now. I’m talking about bands like The Bee Gees, Bon Jovi, Earth Wind And Fire and even Bruce Springsteen. I use to hate Springsteen with a passion but now a days I can at least say I appreciate him.

Getting to my point, I’m going to start posting regularly about what I’m listening to and I want to know what you have been listening to also. Just leave a comment. This week I’ve been listening to Abney Park a lot, if you’re not familiar with them then you have to do yourself a favor and check them out.

Abney Park is a band that can’t be compared to any other. They are a steampunk band and other than saying that, you just can’t fit their music into any other genre. I think some of their music makes me think of Irish Celtic music but some of it sounds like Rock and Jazz also. Abney Park are true originals and they have built up a small industry around themselves. They have a series of novels, a coloring book, a role-playing game and tons of merchandise available.  Don’t take my word for it though, check out the clips below:

http://www.abneypark.com/2015site/

2 responses to “Music That Kicks Ass: Part One

Leave a Reply

