An Interview With Amy Koko

theres-been-a-change-of-plansHow did you do research for your book?
I did my research in the best possible way…I lived it! I guess that’s one of the best things about writing a memoir, no need to sit at your computer googling facts or figures. Just write it from your memory and from your heart.
What made you write a book about your divorce?
When I was going through the process I remember sitting on my bed feeling totally alone as if no one could understand what I was going through. Then I read a book about a woman whose husband had left her and her 2 children and I thought, “Aha! Now we’re getting somewhere!” Turns out that woman was able to return to her Park Avenue apartment and her job on a top rated television show, so, you know, I really couldn’t connect. I wanted my book to be a ray of hope to women who felt like I did, alone, scared and unsure of the future.
What advice would you give budding writers?
Easy, WRITE. READ. WRITE. Don’t overthink every line, every word, every period or comma. Get it out there and believe me there will be plenty of time for editing. PLENTY. When you are not writing, read. I reread my favorite authors to give me inspiration and get me in the mood daily.
Do you ever get writer’s block? What helps you overcome it?
Do I get writer’s block? Yes and I fear it the way some people fear heights or elevators. When I sit at the computer and no words come, I panic. For a moment. Then I read something by Nora Ephron or maybe a passage from Bridget Jones Diary and force myself to sit down and power through. Some days nothing useable appears, but other days, oh…that is the magic.
What is your next project?
My passion now is to help other women who are going through this gut wrenching experience, so along with a colleague of mine, I am facilitating a writing retreat titled “Writing Your Way Through Divorce” to show how writing can help gain clarity and confidence throughout the process. Also, I am currently about ¾ of the way through my first fiction novel and am having a blast with it. I don’t know what is going to happen until I sit down and write it! Still, I believe that even though it’s fiction, we write what we know, so of course this novel is about a midlife woman who reinvents herself in the Big Apple with a lot of laughs along the way.
1-iRead Button small
Leave a Reply

